Eight to Late

Sensemaking and Analytics for Organizations

A project management tragedy in five limericks

with 9 comments

With many changes we had to cope
Deadlines near; no money, no hope.
There was no way to wrangle,
with the iron triangle
of budget, time and scope.

The project was  in a mess.
The reason I could only guess
was the carefully constructed
schedule was busted,
thanks to a dodgy WBS.

When called to explain the delay
I told the sponsor to pray.
When he asked, “But, why?”
I said with a sigh,
“On the critical path the tasks lay.”

He said to me, “This can’t be true.
There must be something you can do.”
Shaking my head
in sorrow, I said,
“All that remains is review.”

And now, I’m not in his pay,
You see, I was fired that day.
So, I exhort you all,
to stay on the ball,
and don’t run your projects this way.

Written by K

February 16, 2008 at 2:38 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Classic – Well worth an early morning trolling of the site :)-

    Like

    /pd

    February 16, 2008 at 11:34 pm

  2. […] 21, 2008 at 5:19 pm (Project Management) I’ve written a project tragedy in limerick form earlier, so I thought I’d try an elegy this […]

    Like

  3. […] you enjoyed this piece, you may like to read my project management tragedy in five limericks. Feedback is welcomed via your […]

    Like

  4. The Limericks bring forth the wisdom of the Critical Path. But what if that path is obstructed or obfuscated by an uncaring regulator or by government bureaucracy ?
    After all a project is as good or as bad as those who initiate it.

    Like

    manohar awati

    March 15, 2008 at 2:23 pm

  5. […] A project management tragedy in five limericks […]

    Like

  6. […] Original article can be found at here. […]

    Like

  7. […] познати на всеки, който е водил проект. Публикувам го в оригинал, защото се опасявам, че ако опитам и поезия да […]

    Like

  8. […] A project management tragedy in five limericks […]

    Like

  9. […] IT tragedy in five limericks A manager’s response to a corporate IT tragedy in five limericks A project management tragedy in five limericks Rate this:Share this:MoreDiggShare on TumblrPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

    Like


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.