Eight to Late

Sensemaking and Analytics for Organizations

A project manager’s dilemma in five limericks

with 5 comments

It is so very hard to cope
with such a platitudinous scope;
vague and unclear,
I’ll tell you right here,
of making it we have no hope.

The goal so very elastic,
based on claims fantastic.
Slick presentations,
and proclamations
couched in language bombastic.

I’ve deployed many dark arts.
Simulations and Gantt Charts.
All to no avail,
my project will fail.
I may as well be throwing darts.

My project, like shifting sand,
is starting to get out of hand.
Despite all attempts
it still makes no sense.
I really think it should be canned.

This truth spinning round in my head
is better left unsaid.
If I were to try it,
they’d only deny it
and give me the sack instead.

Written by K

July 28, 2012 at 11:58 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fantastic mate. The first project manager and poet I’ve come across. I am genuinely jealous.

    Like

    Shim Marom

    August 2, 2012 at 6:41 pm

    • Hi Shim,

      Many thanks! To be honest I was not quite sure how this piece would be received, so I truly appreciate your encouraging comments.

      Regards,

      Kailash.

      Like

      K

      August 2, 2012 at 11:25 pm

  2. I’ve been thinking about writing a poem about project management, but never came around to do it. Thumbs Up!

    Like

    radhiabenalia

    August 3, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    • Thanks – glad you liked it!

      Regards,

      Kailash.

      Like

      K

      August 4, 2012 at 3:20 pm

  3. Reblogged this on radhiabenalia and commented:
    The Gloomy Words of a Project Manager that made me laugh!

    Like

    radhiabenalia

    August 3, 2012 at 8:52 pm


Leave a Reply

